How to Hide the New Username Button in Google Chrome

If you are using the latest version of Google Chrome, you might have noticed your user name being displayed on the top right of the browser window. This feature allows multiple users to use Chrome on the same device. Each person can have their own personal settings, bookmarks as well as themes.

There is also the option of guest browsing. This option will hide your browsing history i.e. the pages you view in Chrome’s guest window won’t appear in the browsing history. While you are guest browsing, you are safe from cookies as well. You can change the user or switch to guest browsing on Chrome by clicking on the user name and selecting Switch person. You also have the option to Go incognito.

How to switch user in Google Chrome

Now, if you are the sole user of your computer or any other device that has Google Chrome installed, you may not want to see the username on your browser all the time. Is there a way to hide or remove the new user profile button ? Yes, there certainly is!

How to disable the new username button in Google Chrome

In order to hide the user name button in Chrome, open up Chrome Flags by typing in Chrome://flags in the navigation bar. Chrome flags are a way to play with experimental features that are not enabled by default in the browser. You should use these features at your own risk as changing anything here can be harmful. This is what Google says about Chrome Flags:

These experimental features may change, break, or disappear at any time. We make absolutely no guarantees about what may happen if you turn one of these experiments on, and your browser may even spontaneously combust.

If you choose to go ahead even after reading Google’s amusing but serious warning, look for the Enable new profile management system within Chrome Flags. You can directly reach this feature using the below link:

chrome://flags/#enable-new-profile-management

This feature takes care of the profile lock and the new avatar menu. It looks something like the screenshot below which is applicable to Mac, Windows, Linux, Chrome OS and Android.

Disable profile button in chrome using chrome flags

This feature is set to Default. To disable the username button in Chrome, just select Disabled, restart the browser and you are all set.

Disabling feature in chrome flags

You won’t see the profile button the next time you launch Google Chrome.

Subscribe to Our Newsletter and Never Miss a Post!

Sign up and be the first one to read new posts for free.
(No spam, we promise.)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge